CHAPTER - 4

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

- 4.1 The Committee expresses gratitude to the Hon'ble Chairman and esteemed Hon'ble Members for their guidance and is also grateful to the eminent persons and officers of the Government Offices for their cooperation from the time of its inception in 1976 to the presentation of Ninth parts of its Report to the Hon'ble President so far. Out of these eight parts, Presidential orders have been issued on all the eight parts on which further action has been taken by the Department of Official Language except on a few recommendations. Now, on the occasion of presentation of Ninth part of Report, the Committee expresses heartfelt gratitude to the Hon'ble Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Members of the Committee and Senior Officers of Government Offices, for their cooperation and guidance. In this regard the Committee is also grateful to all Officers, Institutes, Organizations and eminent personalities who have extended their co-operation in any form for the preparation of this part. Such gratitude has also been acknowledged in the earlier eight parts.
- 4.2 The Union Home Minister has by convention been the Chairman of this Committee. According to the convention Hon'ble Union Home Minister, Shri P. Chidambaram has been the Chairman of the committee since 26.08.2009. Though the discussion and preparation of the ninth part of the Report was started during the tenure of the previous Committee of Parliament on Official Language but this was put up for discussion in the meeting of Drafting and Evidence sub Committee of the newly constituted Committee of Parliament on Official Language which was held on 16.11.2010 under the chairmanship of Shri Satyavrat Chaturvedi. The Committee expresses its special gratitude to the former Dy. Chairman Shri Jai Prakash who was also the acting Chairman of the Committee from 16.12.2008 to 17.05.2009. The Committee also expresses its gratitude to Smt. Sarala Maheshwari (Dy.Chairman 23.08.2004 to 18.08.2005), Prof. Ramdev Bhandari, (Dy. Chairman 19.08.2005 to 09.04.2008), Shri Jai Prakash, Dy. Chairman (23.04.2008 to 18.05.2009), and Shri Satyavrat Chaturvedi (Dy.Chairman 18.09.2009 till date) who have made valuable contributions to the Committee. In addition, Shri Md. Saleem, convenor, First sub-committee (23.04.2008 to 18.05.09), Dr. Laxmi Narayan Pandey, convenor, Second sub-committee (23.08.2004 to 18.05.09), Shri Anil Basu, convenor, Third sub-committee (19.08.2005 to 18.05.09) have made active and significant contributions. Apart from this Sh. Uday Pratap Singh, Sh. Santosh Gangwar and Sh. Mahendra Prasad Nishad have played an important role as members of the Drafting and Evidence Sub Committee. The Committee expresses its gratitude to the Hon'ble members of the newly constituted Drafting and Evidence Sub Committee Shri Rajendra Agrawal, Convenor; Dr. Prasanna Kumar Patsani, Convenor; Prof. Alka Balram Kshatriya, Convenor; Shri Shivanand Tiwari, Dr. (Smt) Bochha Jhansi Laxmi and Dr. Raghuvansh Prasad Singh who have given significant contribution in preparation of the draft of the ninth part of the Report by giving their valuable views in its meetings held from time to time.
- 4.3 All the three sub committees of the Committee have been inspecting the offices of the Ministries/Departments and their subordinate offices, undertakings and organisations located in various towns from time to time. The Committee expresses its gratitude to the officers of Ministries/Departments/Offices/Undertakings for making arrangements for holding meetings, transportation, lodging etc. during such inspections. The Drafting and Evidence Sub Committee has also held discussions with the Chairmen of Town Official Language Implementation Committees and heads of some member offices located in various towns. The Committee

expresses its gratitude to the Chairmen of Town Official Language Implementation Committees and Heads of concerned offices for the proper arrangements made by them for holding these discussions. The Committee is also grateful to the State Governments and Union Territory Administrations for the cooperation extended by them during inspections. The Committee also feels its moral duty to express gratitude to the concerned officers of all Departments who have made necessary arrangements for reservation in Railways and Airlines during the inspection.

- 4.4 The Secretariats of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha have given full cooperation to the Committee by providing necessary facilities like making available the venues as well as the services of interpreters and reporters etc. for holding the meetings of the Committee, as a result thereof the Committee could complete its work smoothly. The Committee is thankful for the same.
- 4.5 Smt Veena Upadhyay, Secretrary, Department of Official Language, Ministry of Home Affairs and Hindi Advisor to the Government of India has made valuable contributions by participating in the meetings of Drafting and Evidence sub Committee of the Committee as well as by participating in the Evidence programmes of the Committee. The Committee has been benefited by her valuable and well considered views. In addition former Secretaries of the Department of Official Language Shri Devdas Chotrai, Shri Prasant Kumar Mishra, Shri Ranjeet Issar, Dr. Pradeep Kumar and Shri B. S. Parsheera have also given their valuable contribution. For this, the Committee expresses its gratitude to them.
- 4.6 The Committee would like to record appreciation for all present officers and members of its Secretariat, particularly Sr. Research Officer Shri Pradeep Kumar Sharma, Under Secretary (Admn.) Dr. L.R.Yadav, Under Secretary Shri Shriprakash Shukla, Research Officer Shri Satendra Dahiya, Section Officer Shri Ashwani Kumar Mohal and Hindi Officer Shri Gunpal Singh Rawat, who through their sincerity, dedication, skill and hard work contributed immensely to bring out the ninth part of the report.
- 4.7 The Committee acknowledges with gratitude the under mentioned staff of the Secretariat viz. Ms. Lidy, Mrs. Ranjana Kanwar, Shri Sandeep Kumar, Shri Virendra Singh, Shri Sukhbir Singh, Shri Gurubaksh Kumar, Shri Ratnesh Srivastav, Shri Saeed Ahmed, Shri Rahul Sharma, Shri Shri S.B.P. Sinha, Shri Sunil Kumar Jain, Shri Ganga Prasad, Shri Arun Kumar, Shri Rajesh Kumar Jha, Shri Arvind Kumar, Shri Kuldeep Negi, Shri Devender Singh, Shri Dharam Raj Tiwari, Shri Subhash Chandra, Shri Umrav Singh and Shri Dhanpat Singh who have rendered their full cooperation for the preparation of this Report in its present form.
- 4.8 Finally, the Committee is especially grateful to its Secretary, Smt. Poonam Juneja under whose inspirational hard work, wise and competent guidance, this part of the report has been prepared.
