GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5751

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 03RD APRIL, 2018 /CHAITRA 13, 1940 (SAKA)

THREE LANGUAGE FORMULA

5751. SHRI B.N. CHANDRAPPA:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has issued any direction to the Bengaluru Metro to implement Three Language Policy and display signage boards in Hindi in the non-Hindi States like Karnataka;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government is aware that the State of Karnataka is classified as "C" region States and the Official Language Rules of 1976 states that Communications from a Central Government office to State or Union Territory in Region "C" or to any office (not being a Central Government office) or person in such State shall be in English;
- (d) if so, whether it is true that the said rule is violated to impose Hindi signages in Namma Metro rails in Bengaluru;
- (e) if so, the details thereof; and
- (f) whether the Government is aware that the Three Language Formula is for adoption and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a) to (f): Yes, Madam. As per the Article 343 of the Constitution the Official Language of the Union is Hindi in Devnagari script. The Union Government has conveyed that since Bengaluru Metro Rail Corporation Limited has 50% equity from the Union Government and is under the control of Ministry of

--2--

L.S.US.Q NO. 5751 FOR 03.04.2018

Urban Development, Government of India which comes under the definition

of 'Central Government Office' under Rule 2(b)(iii) of The Official Language

Rules, 1976, hence the provisions of The Official Language Rules, 1976 and

The Official Languages Act, 1963 will be applicable on Bengaluru Metro

Rail Corporation Limited.

Regarding the implementation of Three Language Formula, the order

of usage of languages in the name-boards/notice-boards to be displayed for

the information of the public by Central Government Offices and

undertakings which are located in non-Hindi speaking areas is to be in the

following order - The land to the state of t

1. Regional Language, 2. Hindi, 3. English.

(a) to (fit Yes. Madam, As not the Article 343 of the Constitution the Official

भारत सरकार गृह मंत्रालय लोक सभा

अतारांकित प्रश्न संख्या 5751 दिनांक 03.04.2018/13 चैत्र, 1940 (शक) को उत्तर के लिए

त्रिभाषा सूत्र

†5751. श्री बी एन चन्द्रप्पाः

क्या गृह मंत्री यह बताने की कृपा करेंगे किः

- (क) क्या सरकार ने बैंगलुरू मेट्रो को त्रिभाषा सूत्र लागू करने तथा कर्नाटक जैसे अहिन्दी भाषी राज्य में संकेत बोर्डों को हिन्दी में दर्शाने संबंधी निदेश जारी किया है;
- (ख) यदि हां, तो तत्संबंधी ब्यौरा क्या है;
- (ग) क्या सरकार को इस बात की जानकारी है कि कर्नाटक राज्य को 'ग' क्षेत्र के रूप में वर्गीकृत किया गया है और राजभाषा नियम 1976 में यह कहा गया है कि केन्द्र सरकार द्वारा 'ग' क्षेत्र के राज्य या संघ राज्यक्षेत्र या किसी कार्यालय (जो केन्द्र सरकार का कार्यालय नहीं हो) या ऐसे राज्य के किसी व्यक्ति को पत्र अंग्रेजी में ही भेजा जाना चाहिए;
- (घ) यदि हां, तो क्या यह सच है कि बैंगलुरू में नाम्मा मेट्रो रेल में हिन्दी में संकेत दर्शाने के लिए कहना उक्त नियम का उल्लंघन है;
- (ङ) यदि हां, तो तत्संबंधी ब्यौरा क्या है; और
- (च) क्या सरकार को इस बात की जानकारी है कि त्रिभाषा सूत्र अपनाया जाना चाहिए और यदि हां, तो तत्संबंधी ब्यौरा क्या है?

उत्तर

गृह मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (श्री किरेन रिजिज्)

(क) से (च) : जी हां, महोदया। संविधान के अनुच्छेद 343 के अनुसार संघ की राजभाषा हिंदी और लिपि देवनागरी है। संघ सरकार ने सूचित किया है कि बैंगलूरु मेट्रो में 50% हिस्सेदारी केंद्र सरकार की है और यह भारत सरकार के शहरी विकास मंत्रालय के अधीन है, जोकि राजभाषा नियम, 1976 के नियम 2(ख)(iii) के अंतर्गत 'केंद्र सरकार के कार्यालय' की परिभाषा की परिधि में आता है, अतः बैंगलूरु मेट्रो रेल कॉर्पोरेशन लिमिटेड पर राजभाषा नियम, 1976 एवं राजभाषा अधिनियम, 1963 के प्रावधान लागू होंगे।

जहां तक त्रिभाषा फार्मूला के कार्यान्वयन का प्रश्न है, केंद्र सरकार के कार्यालयों और उपक्रमों जो कि अहिंदीतर भाषी क्षेत्रों में स्थित हैं, आम जनता की जानकारी के लिए प्रदर्शित नाम पटटों/सूचना पटटों में, भाषा के प्रयोग का क्रम (1) क्षेत्रीय भाषा, (2) हिंदी, (3) अंग्रेजी है।