GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 2863 TO BE ANSWERED ON 22.03.2005

WORKING IN HINDI LANGUAGE

2863. SHRI BHUPENDRASINH SOLANKI

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:-

- (a) the names of States in which work is not done in the official language Hindi;
- (b) the effective steps taken/being taken by the Union Government for propagation of the official language in the country;
- (c) the estimated number of Hindi speaking people in India as on date;
- (d) the language spoken or understood by the largest number of people out of the total population; and
- (e) the reasons for which Hindi could not get its deserving status?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI MANIKRAO HODLYA GAVIT)

(a): The States which do not have Hindi as their official language are as follows:-

Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Goa, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura and West Bengal.

- (b): The Union Government imparts to its non-Hindi speaking employees training in Hindi Lanugage, typing and stenography. Besides, there are various incentive schemes for promoting use of Hindi in official work. Committees have been set up at different levels to promote use of Hindi for official purposes of the Union. They include, Committee of Parliament on Official Language, Kendriya Hindi Samiti, Hindi Salahkar Samitis, Central Official Language Implementation Committees.
- (c): 2001 census data on languages has not yet been processed. However, according to the 1991 report of the Census of India, the number of persons who returned Hindi as their mother tongue was 337,272,114.
- (d): According to the 1991 Census Report, Hindi is the language spoken or understood by the largest number of people in India.

(e): Hindi along with English continues to be the official language of the Union. According to Section 3(5) of the Official Languages Act, 1963 (as amended in 1967) use of English language shall remain in force until Resolutions for its discontinuance have been passed by the Legislatures of all the States which have not adopted Hindi as their official language and until after considering the Resolutions, a Resolution for such discontinuance is passed by each House of Parliament.