GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 725

TO BE ANSWERED ON 05.03.2002

HINDI ADVISORY COMMITTEE IN MINISTRIES

725. SHRI JAGDAMBI PRASAD YADAV

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:-

- (a) the provisions in regard to constituting and reconstituting of Hindi Advisory Committees in different Ministries and Departments;
- (b) the names of the Departments in which such Committees have been constituted alongwith the names of those Departments where these have not been reconstituted;
 - (c) the reasons for not reconstituting the Hindi Advisory Committees; and
 - (d) the steps likely to be taken to reconstitute these soon without delay?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI I.D. SWAMI)

- (a) Hindi Salahkar Samitis are constituted by the Concerned Ministries/ Departments. Minister of concerned Ministry is its Chairman. Generally, there are 30 members in the Samiti, out of which 15 are non-official members. The tenure of Samiti is normally 3 years. Thereafter, the process for its reconstitution is initiated. Sometimes, due to re-organization of Ministries, Hindi Salahkar Samitis are also reconstituted.
- (b) Required information in this regard is given in the enclosed annexure.
- (c) For the constitution & reconstitution of Hindi Salahkar Samitis nomination of non-official members are obtained from Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Parliamentary Committee on Official Language and voluntary organizations etc. It takes time for the concerned ministry/department to complete this process.
- (d) Ministries/ Departments initiate action well before the expiry of tenure of Samitis. Department of Official Language also request them to complete the process expeditiously.

Annexure

Annexure referred to in reply to part B of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 725 due for 5.3.2002 by Sh. Jagdambi Prasad Yadav, Member of Parliament. Regarding: Hindi Salahkar Samitis in Minstries.

Ministries/Departments, where Hindi Salahkar Samitis have been Constituted/Reconstituted.

1. Agriculture & Coopration, Deptt. of Industries+ Deptt.	23. Department of Heavy
Agricultural Research & Education and Deptt. of Animal Husbandry & Dairy.	of Public Enterprises.
2. Ministry of Rural Development. Information & Broadcasting.	24. Ministry of
3.Minsitry of Civil Aviation.	25. Ministry of Labour.
4.Department of Tourism. Justice & Company Affairs.	26. Ministry of Law,
 Department of Atomic Energy +Deptt.of Space Department of Coal. Conventional Energy Sources. 	27. Department of Mines. 28.Ministry of Non
7Department of Commerce. Parliamentary Affairs.	29. Ministry of
8. Department of Posts. Personnel, Public Grievances	30. Ministry of
	& Pension.
9.Department of Telecommunication. Planning.	31. Ministry of
10.Department of Defence + Deptt. of Defence Research & Development.	32. Ministry of Power
11.Department of Defence Production & Supply. & Technology + Deptt.	33. Ministry of Science
12.Ministry of Environment & Forests.	of Ocean Development. 34. Ministry of Steal.
13. Ministry of External Affairs.	
•	35. Ministry of Shipping
14. Department of Economic Affairs Textiles.	36. Ministry of Shipping
	36. Ministry of
Textiles. 15. Dept. of Revenue + Deptt. of Expenditure.	36. Ministry of
Textiles. 15. Dept. of Revenue + Deptt. of Expenditure. Development & Poverty	36. Ministry of 37. Ministry of Urban Alleviation.
Textiles. 15. Dept. of Revenue + Deptt. of Expenditure. Development & Poverty 16. Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Resources. Food & Civil Supply 17. Ministry of Health & Family Welfare	36. Ministry of 37. Ministry of Urban Alleviation.
Textiles. 15. Dept. of Revenue + Deptt. of Expenditure. Development & Poverty 16. Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Resources. Food & Civil Supply	36. Ministry of 37. Ministry of Urban Alleviation. 38. Ministry of Water

19. Department of Primary Education & 41. Ministry of Small Scale Industries.
Literacy + Deptt. of Secondary & Higher
Education + Deptt.of Women & Child Development.

20. Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports.

Affairs.

21. Department of Culture.

21. Department of Culture.

22. Department of Industrial Policy & Promotion.

42. Ministry of Tribal

43. Department of Information Technology.

44. Ministry of Road

Transport & High Ways.

Ministries/ Departments which have not Constituted or re constituted Hindi Salahkar Samitis.

- 1. Ministry of Disinvestment
- 4. Ministry of Statistics & Programme Implementation.
- 2. Ministry of Agro and Rural Industries.
- 5. Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas
- 3. Ministry of Food Processing Industries.
- 6. Ministry of Railways.