# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 2423

TO BE ANSWERED ON 09.08.2005

#### ADVISORY COMMITTEE IN MINISTRIES DEPARTMENTS

2423. SHRI DEVENDRA PRASAD YADAV

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:-

- (a) the name of the ministries and departments wherein advisory committees as per provisions of the Official Language Act have not been constituted or reconstituted so far alongwith the reasons;
- (b) the steps taken/being taken by the Government to ensure constitution of said committees in compliance with the provisions of Official Language Act; and
- (c) the details in this regard?

## **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI MANIKRAO HODLYA GAVIT)

- (a): There is no provision in the Official Language Act, 1963 for the constitution of Hindi Advisory Committee. However, according to the direction of Central Hindi Committee, arrangements have been made to set-up Hindi Advisory Committees in Ministries/Departments. The information about the Ministries/Departments where Hindi Advisory Committees have not so far been constituted/re-constituted, is given in the enclosed Annexure. Nomination of non-official members have to be obtained from various institution for nomination in Hindi Advisory Committees, which takes time.
- (b): It is the responsibility of concerned Ministries/Departments to constitute/reconstitute Hindi Advisory Committees. Department of Official Language have already requested the concerned Ministries/Departments by writing letters at various levels to complete the work of constitution/re-constitution of the Committees.
- (c): Ministries/Departments have already been requested by writing letters at

various levels on 13.07.2004, 26.07.2004, 26.08.2004, 10.12.2004, 13.12.2004, 11.01.2005, 12.04.2005 to expedite the constitution/re-constitution of Hindi Advisory Committees.

### **ANNEXURE**

ANNEXURE TO THE REPLY TO PART (a) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2423 FOR 09.08.2005 TABLED BY SHRI DEVENDRA PRASAD YADAV, MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING ADVISORY COMMITTEES IN MINISTRIES/DEPARTMETNS

Ministries/Departments, where Hindi Advisory Committees have not been constituted/re-constituted.

1. Ministry of Rural Development 2. Ministry of Tourism 3. Departments of Atomic Energy + Department of Space Ministry of Coal 4. 5. Department of Posts 6. Department of Tele Communication 7 Department of Defence Production 8. Department of Economic Affairs 9. Ministry of Home Affairs Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports 10. Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion 11. 12. Ministry of Labour and Employment 13. Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas 14. Ministry of Planning 15. Ministry of Textile Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment 16. 17. Ministry of Tribal Affairs Ministry of Company Affairs 18. North-Eastern Region Development Ministry 19. Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs 20. Ministry of Panchayati Raj 21.